NEW - Christmas Carol CD

"Christmas Carols from Croydon Minster"

Whitgift Chamber Choir

The Choirs of Croydon Minster

Tom Little, Organ

Ronny Krippner, Director

Christmas is a particularly busy time of year for the Chamber Choir of Whitgift School, and this recording represents a selection of the music sung by the boys and men of the Choir at the annual Whitgift Carol Service at Croydon Minster. The repertoire featured is wide, ranging from the early sixteenth-century carol Personent Hodie, through to O Radiant Dawn by contemporary Scottish composer, James MacMillan. The five carol arrangements for choir, brass, percussion and organ were written by Robert Ampt, the City Organist of Sydney Town Hall, and add to the festive flavour of this carol CD.


Whitgift is very proud of its close partnership with Croydon Minster; the Chamber Choir regularly sings in the splendour of the Minster, and the School provides Choristerships for Whitgift Choristers to sing in the Minster Boys’ Choir. This collaboration has resulted in outstanding choral services and concerts, and this CD is testament to the wonderful choral tradition at both Whitgift and Croydon Minster.


Available for £10 at the Minster Office (020 8688 8104).



CD Track List

1. Come, O Come Emmanuel ' arr. Robert Ampt (Choir, Brass, Percussion & Organ) [3:30]
2. O Radiant Dawn ' James MacMillan (b. 1959) [3:59]
3. Once in Royal David's City ' arr. David Willcocks (1919-2015) [4:40]
4. I Saw Three Ships ' arr. P. Marshall (1921-2005) [2:06]
5. God Rest You Merry, Gentlemen ' arr. Robert Ampt (Choir, Brass, Percussion & Organ) [4:36]
6. Adam Lay Ybounden ' Boris Ord (1897-1961) [1:17]
7. O Thou, the Central Orb ' Charles Wood (1866-1926) [4:13]
8. Sussex Carol ' arr. Philip Ledger (1937-2012) [2:09]
9. While Shepherds watched their Flocks By Night ' arr. Robert Ampt (Choir, Brass, Percussion & Organ) [2:51]
10. Personent Hodie ' arr. Gustav Holst (1874-1934) [2:57]
11. Ave Verum Corpus ' Colin Mawby (b. 1936) [3:54]
12. O little Town of Bethlehem ' arr. Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958) [3:20]
13. Tomorrow Shall Be My Dancing Day ' John Gardner (1926-2007) (Choir, Percussion & Organ) [2:07]
14. Magnificat (from Collegium Regale) ' Charles Wood (1866-1926) [5:18]
15. Nunc Dimittis (from Collegium Regale) ' Charles Wood (1866-1926) [3:15]
16. Angels from the Realms of Glory ' arr. Robert Ampt (Choir, Brass, Percussion & Organ) [4:35]
17. Ding dong! Merrily on high ' arr. Stuart Nicholson (b. 1975) [2:56]
18. O come, all ye faithful ' arr. David Willcocks (1919-2015) [4:07]
19. Joy to the World! ' arr. Robert Ampt (Choir, Brass, Percussion & Organ) [2:57]
20. In Dulci Jubilo BWV 729 ' Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) [2:41]